Food for the soul

I’ve been working my way through Lorraine Pascale’s cookbook lately, and it hasn’t let us down. I’m all for complicated recipes that take a day to simmer away on the stove, but sometimes you just need something hearty and tasty and easy to do. 

Aside from the recipes, she includes a food related quote at the start of every section, and this one from Dorothy Day is one of my new favourites:

Food for the body is not enough. There must be food for the soul as well.

I know Dorothy Day was coming from a largely religious perspective, but regardless of beliefs I think this is something we would all do well to remember. Taking time out and focusing on yourself, even if just for a short while, can make all the difference.

I’ve talked about it before here, but water and the sea are definitely my soul food. Throw in a spectacular sky and I’m done for. Walking home from work on Friday was the perfect combination of the two. I know the Thames isn’t quite the sea, but with a view like that I’m not arguing. 

 

Image

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food for the soul

  1. Asmaa says:

    That view *whistles* Living in ‘landlocked’ Brum not much sea round here 😛 though the canals are quite a sight 🙂

    Asmaa || JustPeachy

Leave a Reply

